Office Hours: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday
Driver’s License Hours: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday
Phone #620-355-6372/Fax # 620-355-7382
Email address: firstname.lastname@example.org
Function of Department
The department of Kearny County Treasurer has the primary function of collecting real estate, personal property, intangible and motor vehicle taxes, special assessments, and other miscellaneous tax for the County, cities, townships, school districts, state and ground water management. The Treasurer distributes such revenue to local taxing units. In addition, the Treasurer performs the function of a bank for all revenue-generating County departments.
Tax bills are mailed by Thanksgiving, or soon after. The first half taxes are due by December 20th. If the first half is not paid by then, it begins to accrue interest. If the first half is paid by December 20th, the last half will be due by May 10th of the following year. Reminders of the second half tax bills are mailed around the first of April. Your property taxes are based on how much your local tax authorities decide to spend on services each year.
Personal Property Taxes: After December 20th the full amount of personal property taxes are due plus interest. Unpaid personal property taxes are sent to the Sheriff for collection by a tax warrant in March; second half personal property taxes are sent to the Sheriff for collection by a tax warrant in August.
Delinquent real estate taxes not paid within three years are subject to be sold at auction. Prior to current year delinquent taxes being put in the delinquent records of the County Treasurer, they are published in the Lakin Independent newspaper for three consecutive weeks in August in accordance with the provisions of KSA 79-2301 to 79-2323a. Personal Property taxes that are unpaid October 1 of the current tax year are published in compliance with KSA 19-547 for three consecutive weeks in October in the Lakin Independent newspaper.
The Kearny County Treasurer is an agent for the State of Kansas for registering and titling motor vehicles. We issue license plates upon receipt of proper documentation and submission of the correct fees. The fees include registration fees, personal property taxes, title fees, and sales tax, if applicable. Each year the State sends out curtesy reminders six weeks prior to the expiration date of the license plate. It is a state law that every vehicle has proper insurance coverage before the vehicle can be registered. We handle the initial titling of vehicles in Kearny County, as well as the annual renewals. Once a vehicle is purchased , the new owner has 60 days in which to bring their documentation into our office to be processed. If the purchase is an out-of-state title, the owner of the vehicle needs to have a vehicle identification inspection completed. This is done by the Kearny County Sheriff’s Department for a charge of $20.00. They can do the inspection any time of the day or night just contact them to find out when someone is availlable. License plates in Kansas expire based on the first letter of the last name of the first person on the title.
For forms go to the Kansas Deptarment of Revenue website: https://www.ksrevenue.org/vehicle.html
Vehicle Tag Schedule
Last Name Begins with: Tag Expires at midnight:
A — February 28 (or 29)
B — March 31
C-D — April 30
E-F-G — May 31
H-I — June 30
J-K-L — July 31
M-N-O — August 31
P-Q-R — September 30
S — October 31
T-V-W — November 30
U-X-Y-Z — December 31
Frequently Asked Questions
Q. Where can I get my vehicle inspected, and during what hours?
A. At the Kearny County Sheriff’s Department/24-7 per available officers at 620-355-6211.
Q. Can I get an extension on my sixty-day permit?
A. No, one sixty day permit is all that is allowed by law.
Q. How can I renew my tags if I didn’t receive a renewal notice in the mail?
A. You simply bring in your proof of insurance and your tag number and we can renew with that information
The Division of vehicles recently implemented a new computer system (May 2012), The County Treasurer’s Office now uses your Driver’s License Number or FEIN Number (for businesses) when titling vehicles,
Each time you come in to title a vehicle, you will be required to show your driver’s license. Your vehicle should be titled exactly like the name on your driver’s license. (Your DL is not needed for renewals-this is for new title applications only)