Reminder from the County Treasurer:
“T,V, & W” tags are due at the end of November. Bring proof of insurance for each vehicle. Please remember to bring your drivers license when titling vehicles.
Please let us know prior to renewal if you are interested in a state park pass for your vehicle.
Please come in early to renew your tags and driver’s license. If the state computer system is down, we can not process your requests.
CDL Renewal is now available at the Treasurer’s office again.
IF you did not receive a renewal form from the state, you may look them up at: www.ksrevenue.org
Please remember to renew your tags and drivers license at your earliest convenience; if there is trouble with the State Computer System, we are unable to process these items.
If you sell a vehicle, be sure to keep the tag. You are eligible for a refund on that tag or you may transfer the money that is left on it to a new vehicle. Do not let the buyer drive off with your tag. In Kansas, the tag belongs to the person-not the vehicle. Letting the buyer drive off with your tag could cause you grave legal consequences if that vehicle is in an accident.
If you have a heavy truck that requires IRS Form 2290 (over 54000 pounds) be sure you have filed with the IRS. In January, a stamped form is required to renew your heavy truck tag.
Applications should be made 2 months prior to your tag expiration date. If you would like to have the new plate at the time you renew, please apply early. Tags take 6-8 weeks to arrive after application approval. Application fee is $45.50.
Taxes & Distributions
2017 Property Tax statements were mailed the week of November 13, 2017. If you did not receive yours, please contact the Treasurer’s office. The first half of 2017 property taxes are due December 20, 2017.
If you have delinquent taxes, we urge you to bring them into paid status. Once a property is delinquent for 3 years, it can be sold at our tax sale for the delinquent tax amount.
More information is available at the County Treasurer’s office.
Driver’s License and Real ID
Hours for Driver’s License service at the Kearny
County Treasurer’s office are 8:00 a.m-4:30 p.m.
on days the Kearny County Courthouse is open for
Congress passed the Real ID Act in 2005. This is coordinated effort by the Federal Government and the States to improve the accuracy of state issued identification documents.
Beginning October 1, 2020 Every Travel will need a Real ID to board commercial airlines or enter designated federal facilities. If you would like the Real ID designation added to your Kansas DL, you must bring with you a state issued birth certificate, a marriage license (if your name is different than on your birth certificate) and your Social Security Card or Income Tax Form with your SS number on it for verification. This option will be available for DL’s that renew after August 1, 2017.
You will be able to continue to use your existing DL to board a plane or enter a federal facility until September 30, 2020. After that time, you MUST have a Real ID.
For more information: tsa.gov/travel/security-screening/identification